Your 2013-2014 Officer Candidates

We will be coming together at our annual meeting in Duluth in October and on our agenda will be election of two new officers. Kathy Brandt will be moving to President, Jennifer Garbow will move to Past-President, Connie Burns will serve as secretary for the second year of her term. Kay Lovett will finish her two year term as Treasurer.
We will be electing our new President-Elect and Treasurer (two year term). Meet our candidates!
Lori Hendrickson – Pres-Elect Candidate
Hello NEAFCS-MN members and friends,
My name is Lori Hendrickson and I am an Extension Educator & Extension Professor for the University of Minnesota Extension. I am sharing this biography with you to get to know me a bit, as a candidate for President-Elect of NEAFCS-MN.
I have worked as an Extension Educator in Family Resource Management (or other such titles) since 1988. Prior to that, I taught high school home economics in Pipestone, MN and Orr, MN. My work with the University of Minnesota Extension has been varied and began with a position in Itasca County Extension, with later transitions to the Grand Rapids Regional Office. My work over the years has included basic personal financial management, youth and money topics, housing, and financial recovery in disaster.
I hold a Master of Education (M.Ed.) degree with emphasis in Special Education and a Bachelor of Applied Science (B.A.S.) degree in Home Economics Education, both from the University of Minnesota-Duluth. I am an Accredited Financial Counselor (AFC) designation from the Association for Financial Counseling and Planning Education and am certified in Family and Consumer Sciences (CFCS) by the American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences. I have been a member of AAFCS/MAFCS for over 25 years and a member of NEAFCS for about 24 years.
During my years as a member of NEAFCS-MN I have been involved as an area representative in northern Minnesota and as a committee member and chair of a variety of committees. I have participated in the wonderful experience of PILD and have taken part in a number of national conferences. I have often thought about when the “right time” would be to take a leadership role. As I looked at my commitments over the next several years and current grant projects wrapping up, I thought there wouldn’t be a “better time” than now to take that leap. So, I am placing my name in nomination for NEAFCS-MN President-Elect.
When I am not working, my husband John and I enjoy traveling, looking for treasures at antique stores and cheering on our UMD Bulldogs throughout the football and hockey seasons. We have recently welcomed a kitten to our family and are having fun getting to know her.
Lori Hendrickson.png
Mary Caskey – Treasurer Candidate
Greetings fellow NEAFCS-MN Members!
As a candidate for Treasurer for our state association, I would like to share a little of my NEAFCS and Extension background. I have been an Extension Educator in Health & Nutrition for the past 14 years with the University. I have worked in the field of nutrition for over 30 years in a variety of programs targeting low-income audiences such as Head Start, WIC and the SNAP-Ed program. My work as an Extension Educator has also focused on providing trainings to school foodservice staff to increase their nutrition knowledge base and to improve the nutritional quality of school meals served to Minnesota students.
I have been a member of NEAFCS-MN since 2005 and held these offices: President-elect, President and Past President during the years 2009-2012. I have also served as co-chair of the Awards/Membership committee. My attention to details, organizational skills and knowledge of our organization would serve me well as your state treasurer. I have attended 4 national NEAFCS conferences with plans to attend the Galaxy conference in Pittsburgh this September. I believe it’s important to support and be an active member of our state association.
Personally, my husband, Doug and I live in central MN, just west of St. Cloud. We are very fortunate that our 2 daughters/husbands live within easy driving distance of our home so we can spoil our 4 grandchildren. As you can imagine, our life currently revolves around spending time with these 4 amazing little people – what a joy to see life through their eyes. We are going through a second childhood spending our free time ATV riding, snowmobiling and canoeing.
Mary Caskey.JPG

Leave a Reply

